Praise Literature and Latte

For giving Scrivener five automatic backups. Or Tarien would be gnashing his overambitious teeth right about now. Having been spurred to place a book 5 between my recently finished 4 and the series finishing 6, I thought again on putting a book 2.5 between my present books 2 & 3. Which are of course, in the can.

The outline for the book was again, frighteningly simple. But when I started rearranging scenes and moving files, I started to get a headache. The timeline, which is fairly neat now, was about to become a mess only Steven Erikson could approve of. But by now I had pulled chapters out of existing works, piled up a dozen new chapters. And still had 4 pages of outline.

Well, right about then, the throbbing in my head told me that nuking the outline was better for a writer’s sanity than introducing my very own Garden of the Moonism to my Hellenistic Fantasy. So I managed to find my backup from last night, save all my real work, and pretend tonight didn’t happen.

Then of course, I saved it for all perpetuity. Because the internet is forever. One note to Scrivener users who might recall the distant past where I discussed using it with this series (And all my fiction writing outside short-story length since 2012). Decide whether to break the project into chunks (of novel size or greater) or keep it unified at the beginning and stick to that choice. Your humble blogger tonight also experimented with breaking up his project, as I thought seven books would become unwieldy for the laptop’s memory. That choice did not last as long as the book 7 outline attempt. A good chunk of my keywords got nuked going from volume 1 to 2 and 3. I would’ve had to rearrange all of them, and rewrite a passel. I thought that acceptable, as then I could change ranks, and put characters who were deceased now back into live columns in earlier volumes for editing purposes.

Erm…not so much. It seems editing the keyword in one project changed it for all…even though they were distinct projects. Maybe because I had all 3 open at the same time, and if I closed the others it wouldn’t. But opening and closing them each time represents a level of tedium even I am not masochistic enough to endure. And I was a goalkeeper in soccer and hockey. So I know pain. 😛

Enter the Discussion

