Thanks NaNo.

But I really don’t think I’ll be done by November 12th. *chuckles* Of course, I don’t expect to be.

4500 words on day 1 was a nice start. But the general plan from here one is 2000 words a workday, save Thursdays, where if I can squeak out a thousand, I’m doing well. (Work is crazy for me then, and typically leaves my brain dribbling out my ears.) Then rack up 3k on the weekend. Of course, that still puts me at 20k at the end of next Sunday, and going over 50k on November 20th (the earliest validation day, as I recall).

The point is this: One of the things people rag on NaNo about is it being ‘speed writing.’ It really isn’t. 1500 words a day, every day, will get you close enough to 50k in a month to make it with a couple bigger days thrown in. That’s not a sprint. Not even close. That’s less than Stephen King’s maxim for ‘real writers’ in On Writing. It doesn’t require ramming speed recklessness. It simply requires consistent effort. Something which anyone writing novels really needs, since the Doubt Monster will otherwise come and swallow up your half-finished manuscript.

Sure, you’ll have to edit, so it really isn’t ‘done’ in terms of publication ready. But it’s a lot harder for the DM to critical hit that completed rough draft than it is the thing that’s one-third to half-finished. Messing with that, before you’ve seen how all the plotlines shake out, isn’t editing. It’s tinkering. Make editing its own phase. Separate from writing. It’s neater that way.

Enter the Discussion

