Solid Writing Week

First time this year I wrote over 10,000 words in a week. And that was despite being too baked to write Friday after working in the real world 11 hours. So while it’s not the pace I like to keep yet, I’m good with it.

While I was working on the Hellenist Fantasy, I thought about doing something Stormlight-Archive(ish). One thing I have had to accept by limiting the number of PoV characters is that a lot of the story is told “from the top.” Now this probably isn’t *that* unusual for Epic Fantasy. But part of what makes The Black Company and Malazan Book of the Fallen superior to most, IMHO, is that battles are told just as much ‘from the fray.’ Codex Alera was also good at this. Now for one character, this isn’t a real problem, because like his inspiration, he leads from the front. But for the Dessians, whose Legates typically watch and only intercede when the battle is at the crucial moment, it’s a tad more complicated.

So to address that, and add some color and examine the soldier’s culture & trials of the time, I’m going to add a sprinkling of subchapters, similar to the Interludes of Stormlight, but contained in the main PoV of whoever they serve under. I might do this for the political bodies as well, in order to demonstrate how they operated–or failed to operate, as the case may be. I’d write those a little more in an “annals” style. As objectively as histories in the time got (which was rarely THAT objective).

I’ll wait until rewrite to decide if I follow through on that. But right now, at least, I like the idea.

Enter the Discussion

