Gentlemen, You have no Idea why People Read…

I have to admit, I was never a big fan of Asimov. Mainly because I felt like it was catering to boring sci-fi for a LOOONG time. In fact, it’s pretty hard for me to name a single Spec-fic dead-tree magazine that I can endorse these days. They ALL want to be ‘literary.’

Cedar Writes

This is a guest post by a friend and very articulate man, who posted this letter he sent to the editors of Analog, explaining why he felt compelled to cancel his subscription and end a three-decade relationship with that venerable SF institution. I will add to it that he touches on a theme you have seen here before, and will see many more times: fiction ought to be fun, enjoyable to read, and possess hope. Nihilism is never fun. 

Hated to do it – well, mildly regret really – but I’ve cancelled my subscription to Asimov’s SF Magazine. And here’s the email I sent them about it. (Warning – spoiler for one story in the magazine… and it’s a fairly long rant.)

—-

It’s been a pretty good run, guys. I’ve subscribed on and off since your first issue in the ‘70s, and usually gotten my money’s worth.

But lately…

View original post 788 more words

Enter the Discussion

