It isn’t nice to get me wound up this early in the morning

This spares me another long post on the Amazon/Hachette bruhaha. Oh Gosh! Amazon sent an e-mail. Really, get over it. If you’re so ill-informed as to think Hachette hasn’t been trying to delay and recruit high-powered muscle to help its case, you don’t know enough about this to comment on what Amazon did. Period.

madgeniusclub

One of the last things I wanted to do this morning was another post on the Amazon/Hatchette ongoing battle. For one thing, I’ve already done several posts on the subject. For another, I have a feeling the negotiations with Hatchette are just the opening salvo in what looks to be a long battle between Amazon and the publishers caught colluding with Apple to price fix. Yes, this opening salvo is going to have a huge impact on how the rest of the negotiations go but it won’t be the end of it all. But a week or two without another Amazon/Hatchette post wasn’t to be.

I really didn’t think too much about it when I opened my email yesterday and found a message from Amazon about the current war of words. Nor was I surprised to see Amazon asking us — KDP authors — to email Hatchette and let the…

View original post 1,792 more words

9 thoughts on “It isn’t nice to get me wound up this early in the morning

  1. Personally, I’m loving this entire scenario. The big publishers and outlets are collaborating to make it impossible to get an ebook for less than a print book. There are only maybe four trad-pub authors whose work I will purchase no matter what. If prices fix at ~$10 per title, I will not be taking chances on any new trad-pub authors, pretty much ever. Ebook prices for trad-pub titles have already driven me toward purchasing indie titles almost exclusively. Extrapolating my experience into a trend, this debacle is going to be fantastic for indie authors no matter which way it goes for Amazon/Hatchette.

    • Indeed. I have a few favorite authors. But outside of Baen, I feel no desire to risk on any Trad Pub company’s stable. It’s like they cannot figure out they are pricing themselves right out of existence.

      It’s as I said before: The Entertainment Industry is the one business convinced the Law of Supply & Demand does not hold for them. The Music Industry already has discovered how wrong it was. The Big 5 are next.

      • Based on some critiques on the post Amazon posted on their forums about price elasticity, I’d say that they don’t. They really don’t comprehend that it’s remotely applicable to them.

        Part of the problem is that they claim books are “special”. Well, for those of us who love books, sure. However, for the most part, they’re like any other commodity. Amazon understands this and does whatever they can to increase their supply of books so they can sell any book a customer wants.

        The publishers act as if books are something unique where the regular laws of business don’t apply. They’re contorting themselves to try and avoid the reality of this. Me? I laugh at them…mostly because they’ve done everything they can to piss me off. I swear, sometimes it’s like that have a checklist or something. 🙂

      • And the real amusing thing is, this pretty much is the nail in the coffin to me when it comes to pursuing Trad pub. If I sell enough in Indie to get a knock on the door, I’ll listen. But if they intend this route, they’re only killing themselves. Why jump on the sinking ship?

Enter the Discussion

