Time to Go Camping

CampNaNoWriMo, to be specific. I’ve done the traditional NaNo the last 3 Novembers. It’s been fun, and honestly, I’ve never felt like 1667 words a day is a ‘speed writing’ threshold. Ok. Let me be clearer on that. It simply isn’t. 2k per day, 5 days a week, is my usual goal in writing. All I’m doing when I NaNo is making one of those ‘days off’ a ‘half-day,’ if you will. Or jacking up my word count on the regular working days a tad. Either way, there’s nothing ‘speed writing’ about it. 

That said, I did get tired of my writing for a bit after November this year. I think that was because I did something I knew I shouldn’t have. I really wanted to get away from the Epic Sword & Sandal Fantasy that’s been consuming my work since July of last year. But I felt like I didn’t have anything else ‘ready’ for NaNo. So I plowed into Book 2, and got tired of the project shortly after NaNo. There were other things too. Work stuff, a double dose of sick. Wifey sick. Serious health problems in the family. And I’ve been writing one project or another almost non-stop for six years. Maybe a ‘sabbatical’ wasn’t the end of the world.

Anyway, I came back to Chosen in War in February, and I decided that although I’m going to trim some stuff when I edit (probably trim a subplot back some, and tweak here and there) that the story is quite goodish. Without getting spoilerish, it *looks* on the surface like a conventional Hero(ines) Quest. But what do you do when the Quest-Giver might not be entirely on the up-and-up? (And without putting my cards on the table, that’s putting it mildly.) It also has a nice war arc for the military-fantasy inclined. One that draws from the Punic Wars. And, if you haven’t been following, this is being told with Carthage as ‘The Good Guys.’ Or at least, the Cathaginian Protagonists are…there’s some right nasty folk in Marqash (my stand in) as well.

So now for Camp NaNo (To come back to the beginning) I am going right into Book 3. But that’s cool. Because this is the story I’ve been chomping at the bit to tell since I began the story. This is where I get to have Hannibal cross the Alps, with Magic! And oh yeah, did I mention that “Macedon” actually decides to HELP in this Punic War, instead of wait for its turn to get crushed by Rome? And oh yeah…a Servile Rebellion in the midst of all this. “Rome” is in trouble. But don’t worry, they’re still a race of ingenious, indefatigable, indomitable Determinators. 😛

So I’m geeked about writing Chosen in Chains, actually. That said, I’m going to do something considerably lighter when I finished Book 3 (of projected 5) off. Probably back to my Urban Fantasy. Just because I’ve missed those characters, and I want to see if I can write a story where Vic becomes a cross between Bruce Wayne and Charles Xavier. Pre-wheelchair. 😉

 

Enter the Discussion

